Delaware Annual Extension Conference – First State Innovate

First State Innovate program  (formatted in booklet form).

See photos from First State Innovate!

Read about First State Innovate on UDaily!

Thanks to an endowment from Dr. Jan Seitz, we are introducing the First Annual Extension Innovation Competition and one winning team will be awarded $5,000 at the conference on October 19, 2017. In addition to the First Prize, it was announced on Sept. 8, 2017, that funding for second through fourth place teams will be provided, for a total of $15,000 awarded to implement innovative ideas!

Featured Highlights  – Recordings

What is innovation?

Innovation is the process of improving, adapting, developing, or creating a new product, system, service, or process, large or small, to deliver better results, create value for people, or move an organization forward.

Why should Extension innovate?

Extension plays a significant role in rural, urban, and suburban life with offices located in most of the nation’s 3000+ counties. If we are to continue to provide solutions to problems and improve the quality of life in the 21st century, we need to continually change and adjust. In other words, Extension must continue to innovate. A call to action to support and invest in innovation has been embraced by more than 500 leading organizations in US industry, education, science, and engineering.

ECOP Releases Innovation Report

Leadership, organizational culture, hiring practices, training and support, and learner engagement are addressed in a new ECOP report on innovation.

Led by Keith Smith, retired Extension director, The Ohio State University, the ECOP Innovation Task Force, provides guidelines for implementation strategies within the Extension organization. ECOP expects to take follow-up action in 2017 and recommends Extension Directors and Administrators embrace the call to action to support and invest in innovation.

Read more here >>

UD Cooperative Extension Innovation Committee Members:

Bill Cissel
Cyndi Connelly
Rene Diaz
Karen Johnston
Kimberly Moore
Christy Mannering
Nancy Mears
Carrie Murphy
Adam Thomas
Jenn Volk
Michele Walfred