Delaware 4-H 2014 Salute to Excellence winners

March 11, 2014 in mainfeature, Uncategorized

2014 Delaware 4-h Salute to Excellence winners were announced on Feb. 1, 2014 at the Delaware 4-H annual leader forum. The recipients are:

Please view picture gallery here

New Castle County

Patricia Leach – Volunteer of the Year

Patricia grew up in Delaware 4-H and has been organizational leader for the Delaware Diamonds 4-H Club for two years. Patricia organizes many community events, is a race day volunteer for the Quest for Clover 4K, assists NCC Leader Association with the food booth and helps set up the county 4-H Achievement Banquet. She gathered youth to participage in National 4-H Council’s new marketing initiative.

Kimberly Klair – Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer

Kim has served as the Porter Club 4-H organizational leader for 13 years, which was also her club growing up. Kim serves as NCC Leader Association president. She volunteers to cook at UD’s Ag Day and serve food for the leaders. Kim has assisted with Delaware State Fair clean up for m any years and has served as a judge’s assistant. She participates in the 4-H fundraisers at the Delaware Blue Rocks, and several Friendly’s restaurant events.

Kent County

Elaine Webb – Volunteer of the Year

Elaine Webb is one of the most organized 4-H Organizational Leaders that I have had the pleasure to work with.  She is an outstanding leader who has created a strong base of project leaders who are working with 4-H youth in a wide range of project areas.   Her club program continues to provide outstanding opportunities and learning experiences for all her 4-H club members.

Joanne Carter – Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer

Joanne Carter has been an outstanding volunteer in Kent County for over 16 years.  She has provided strong leadership to her local club, but also just as importantly, to our County Leader Association in her role of President for several years for this group.  She is definitely a person who can be counted on to help in any way she can, and continues to be a strong volunteer in assisting at most all county 4-H events throughout the year.

Sussex County  *Denotes State Winner  **Denotes Regional Winner

Clyde Mellin – Volunteer of the Year   **
Click here to read more about Clyde’s service to Delaware 4-H here.

Sharon Anderson – Outstanding Lifetime Volunteer *

Sharon has been the organizational leader of the Hollymount 4-H Club since 2006. Despite not coming from a 4-H background herself, she has fully immersed herself in all things 4-H. Sharon had previously won Sussex County STE Volunteer of the Year and she has been inducted into the Sussex County 4-H Order of the Link. Sharon’s club is very active in community service projects in the Lewes-Milton area including Adopt-A Beach, Meals on Wheels, donations to SPCA and various parades. Sharon and club members are regular volunteers at the successful 4-H Farm Tour hosted by the Hopkins Family at Green Acres Farm. Sharon also has served as an onsite nurse at many 4-H events.